The JOHN BARDEEN PRIZE was established in 1991 by the organizers of the International Conference on the Materials and Mechanisms of Superconductivity (M2S) in honor of Dr. John Bardeen for "theoretical work that has provided significant insights on the nature of superconductivity and has led to verifiable predictions". This prize is funded by the Physics Department at the University of Illinois, with an award of $6000 to the recipient and a certificate.

The 2015 John Bardeen Prize Winner is:

Dr. Vinay Ambegaokar, Goldwin Smith Professor of Physics Emeritus at Cornell University for his contributions to the statics, dynamics and kinetics of Josephson junctions and nanowires.

Further information in the press releases from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Cornell University

The 2015 John Bardeen Prize has been awarded at the M2S Conference in Geneva from August 23 to August 28, 2015.

Prize chair and contact

Anthony J. Leggett

Institute for Condensed Matter Theory
University of Illinois
1110 W. Green Street
Urbana  IL 61801-3080, USA



A.F. Andreev

Kapitza Institute for Physical Problems, Moscow (Russia)
Stanford University,Stanford,CA (USA)
Dept.of Applied Physics,Tokyo University,Tokyo (Japan)
Dept.of Physics,Princeton University,Princeton,NJ (USA)