The  KAMERLINGH ONNES PRIZE was established in 2000 by the organizers of the International Conference on the Materials and Mechanisms of Superconductivity (M2S) in honor of Prof. Heike Kamerlingh Onnes who discovered superconductivity in 1911. It is awarded every three years at the M2S Conference, for outstanding experiments which illuminate the nature of superconductivity other than materials. The award is sponsored by Elsevier, Publisher of Physica C - Superconductivity and its Applications. The Prize consists of 7,500 € and a certificate.

The 2015 Kamerlingh Onnes Prize Winner is:

Professor Gilbert Lonzarich of the University of Cambridgefor visionary experiments concerning the emergence of superconductivity among strongly renormalized quasiparticles at the edge of magnetic order.

Further information in the press release from the University of Cambridge.

The 2015 Kamerlingh Onnes Prize has been awarded at the M2S Conference in Geneva from August 23 to August 28, 2015.

Prize chair  


Gabriel Aeppli

Aharon Kapitulnik
George Sawatzky
Teun Klapwijk
Shin-Ichi Uchida

Paul Scherrer Institut, Swiss Light Source, Villigen (Switzerland)

Stanford University (USA)
University of British Columbia (Canada)
Delft University (Netherlands)
Tokyo University (Japan)



2012 : M2S-HTSC-X (29 July – 3 August, 2012, Washington DC)
Herbert A. MookTeunis M. Klapwijk and Øystein H. Fischer for their long-term outstanding and pioneering contributions to the experimental superconductivity research :
Herbert A. Mook "for several decades of important neutron spectroscopy and diffraction experiments on superconductors, especially those with magnetic tendencies"
Teunis M. Klapwijk "for seminal experiments on the superconducting properties of superconductor-ferromagnet and superconductor-normal metal nano structures"
Øystein H. Fischer "for leadership in magnetic superconductors and pioneering STM studies in the cuprate high-Tc materials"

2009 :  M2S-HTSC-IX (7-12 September 2009, Tokyo)
J.C. Seamus Davis, Aharon Kapitulnik
, and John Tranquada for pioneering and seminal experiments which illuminate the nature of superconductivity in strongly correlated electron systems:
J.C. Seamus Davis "for pushing the limits of spectroscopic imaging scanning tunneling microscopy at low temperatures and applying it to pioneering studies of the cuprate high temperature superconductors"
Aharon Kapitulnik "for seminal studies of time-reversal-symmetry breaking effects in unconventional superconductors using magneto optics"
John M. Tranquada "for pioneering neutron scattering experiments leading to the discovery of the stripe phases in the cuprate high temperature superconductors"

2006: M2S-HTSC-VIII (9-15 July 2006, Dresden)

N. Phuan Ong, Hidenori Takagi and Shin-ichi Uchida for pioneering and seminal transport experiments which illuminated the unconventional nature of the metallic state of high temperature superconducting cuprates.

2003: M2S-HTSC-VII (25-30 mai 2003, Rio de Janeiro)
George Crabtree and Eli Zeldov for pioneering and seminal experiments which elucidated the vortex phase diagram in high temperature superconductors under various conditions of disorder and anisotropy 

2000: M2S-HTSC-VI (20-25 February 2000, Houston)
Zhi-Xun Shen  for elucidating the electron structure of high-temperature superconductors and other strongly interacting electron materials by angular resolved photoelectron spectroscopy..